As we remember British Columbians, let me begin by speaking to the recent tragedy in Quebec City.

Let us speak in one voice to express our condolences, condemn the hatred and violence. Let us re-affirm who we are as Canadians.

I want to thank the Imam for his prayers.

First responders place themselves in harm’s way to help others. This year, an entire nation mourned Constable Sarah Beckett, who lost her life in the line of duty.

We lost those who represented British Columbians in Ottawa or in this legislature, Patrick Crofton, Len Marchand, Frederick King, Samuel Bawlf, Don Phillips, and John Nuraney.

And those who inspired us like Rolly Fox, John Young, Stanley Burke, Pritam Singh Jauhal, William Esson, W.P. Kinsella, Harold Mann, Vic Rapp, Dawn Coe-Jones, Dave Broadfoot, and Joe Wai.

And those who helped build vibrant communities, such as Robin Hood, Murray Newman, Bing Thom, Jim Munro, Dr. Raghbir Bains, David Strangway, and David Holmberg.

British Columbia First Nations lost leaders like Philomena Alphonse, Donald Moses, Kathleen Green, Nelson Keitlah, Alban Michael, Norman Tait, Marjorie McRae, Daphne Odjig, Rocky Wilson, Joseph Bartleman, Arthur Manuel, David Bob, and Ollie Chickite.

Today, a service is held for Orsa Marie Douglas, the last living direct descendent of Sir James Douglas, one of the key founding fathers of our great province.

Finally, some of our co-workers and friends who worked for the legislature, John Crawford, Gary Miller, and Deb Hartung.

This year, we celebrate Canada’s 150th year. Let us remember the women and men who gave so much to build our country and province.